DFG SPP 2262

MemrisTec

Memristive Devices Toward Smart Technical Systems​

Latest News

Starting in 2020, the TU Dresden will take over the coordination of the new priority program “Memristive Devices Toward Smart Technical Systems” (SPP 2262) established by the German Research Foundation (DFG). The program, headed by Prof. Dr. Ronald Tetzlaff, Chair of Fundamentals of Electrical Engineering, will receive funding of almost 6 million euros for the time period 2021-2023 to support research projects on memristive systems.

cropped-logoMemristec20171012_v05_large-1.png

Memristors are nanoelectric devices capable of storage and computation. Their specific properties make it possible to integrate significantly more memory than before in a very small space and to create novel, biologically inspired networks for information processing.

This creates electronic circuits whose performance is significantly greater than that of conventional semiconductor solutions. The highly efficient and faster memory technologies are better able than conventional technologies to meet the challenges of the Internet of Things. Due to their high efficiency and small size, memristors also allow the development of highly sensitive biosensors, which are particularly interesting for medical technology.

Such sensors can be used, for example, to detect cancer cells very sensitively at low concentrations. Moreover, memristors are particularly well suited for imaging the learning behavior of synapses in neuromorphic electronic systems, i.e. the development of artificial brains. That is, in the future, computers may be created that can “think” and “learn” with memristors. In addition, a multitude of other possible applications is conceivable.

Packaged volatile memristor devices fabricated at NaMLab, with a microscope image and a scanning electron microscope image showing a zoom in on the memristor structures.

Aim of the research project

It is only in the last ten years or so that researchers from science and industry have been intensively studying the theory of memristors.

“Researchers working on memristors can be roughly divided into two groups.

One is concerned with the manufacture of memristive devices.

The other, smaller group, focuses on the theory of such devices.”

Prof. Dr. Ronald Tetzlaff

The mission of MemrisTec is to bring together the two groups as well as researchers from other disciplines to explore the scientific basis of the memristor and enable industrial application. The priority program particularly supports projects that focus on a link between theoretical and experimental research.

Partners

Contact

Prof. Dr. Ronald Tetzlaff
Coordination MemrisTec
memristec@tu-dresden.de
Tel.: +49 351 463-32328
Fax.: +49 351 463-37042
Technische Universität Dresden
ING / ETIT / IEE / GE
01062 Dresden

MEMRISTEC

MemrisTec

Memristive Bauelemente für intelligente technische Systeme

Memristec Logo
Logo der DFG mit Förderhinweis

Die TU Dresden übernimmt beginnend im Jahr 2020 die Koordination des, von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), neu eingerichteten Schwerpunktprogramms „Memristive Bauelemente für intelligente technische Systeme“ (SPP 2262). Das Programm, geleitet von Prof. Dr. Ronald Tetzlaff, Professur für Grundlagen der Elektrotechnik, erhält für die nächsten drei Jahre die Förderung von knapp 6 Mio. Euro zur Förderung von Forschungsvorhaben von memristiven Systemen.

Memristoren sind speicher- und rechenfähige nanoelektrische Bauelemente. Ihre spezifischen Eigenschaften ermöglichen es, dass deutlich mehr Speicher als bisher auf engsten Raum integrierbar ist und neuartige, biologisch inspirierte Netzwerke zur Informationsverarbeitung geschaffen werden können.

Dadurch entstehen elektronische Schaltkreise, deren Leistungsfähigkeit erheblich größer ist als die konventioneller Halbleiterlösungen. Die hocheffizienten und schnelleren Speichertechnologien sind besser als herkömmliche Technologien in der Lage, die Herausforderungen des Internets der Dinge zu meistern. Aufgrund ihrer hohen Effizienz und geringen Größe lassen Memristoren auch die Entwicklung von hochgradig empfindlichen Biosensoren zu, die insbesondere für die Medizintechnik interessant sind.

Mit solchen Sensoren können beispielsweise Krebszellen in geringer Konzentration sehr sensibel detektiert werden. Memristoren sind zudem besonders für die Darstellung des Lernverhaltens von Synapsen in neuromorphen elektronischen Systemen, also die Entwicklung künstlicher Gehirne, hervorragend geeignet. D.h. künftig können Computer entstehen, die mit Memristoren „denken“ und „lernen“ können. Darüber hinaus ist eine Vielzahl weiterer Anwendungsmöglichkeiten denkbar.

Partner

Ziel des Forschungsvorhabens

Erst seit ca. zehn Jahren setzen sich Forscher aus Wissenschaft und Industrie intensiv mit der Theorie von Memristoren auseinander.

„Die Forscher, die sich mit Memristoren befassen, können grob in zwei Gruppen unterteilt werden.

Die eine beschäftigt sich mit der Herstellung von memristiven Bauelementen.

Die andere, kleinere Gruppe, legt ihren Schwerpunkt auf die Theorie solcher Bauelemente.“

Prof. Ronald Tetzlaff

Die Aufgabe von MemrisTec ist es, die beiden Gruppen sowie Forscher weiterer Disziplinen zusammenzubringen, um die wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen des Memristors zu ergründen und eine industrielle Anwendung zu ermöglichen. Im Rahmen des Schwerpunktprogramms werden insbesondere Projekte gefördert, bei denen eine Verbindung zwischen theoretischer und experimenteller Forschung im Fokus steht.

Übersicht aller Projekte

Eine Übersicht aller Teilprojekte des SPP 2262 findet sich hier:

Kontakt

Christian Bruchatz
Koordination MemrisTec
memristec@tu-dresden.de
Tel.: +49 351 463-32328
Fax.: +49 351 463-37042
Technische Universität Dresden
ING / ETIT / IEE / GE
01062 Dresden