Categories
Events

Dresden Science Night on Friday, 8.7.2022

NaMLab gGmbH offers several attractions!

https://www.wissenschaftsnacht-dresden.de/en

Insights into the cleanroom (17:00-23:00)

Take a look inside the cleanroom together with our scientists and learn interesting facts about the construction of a cleanroom and work in this environment. Questions like how clean is actually pure and what a clean room is needed for will be clarified. Afterwards, easy-to-understand demonstrators will be used to explain how electrical components work and how thin layers are realized in semiconductor technology.

How to do research in the nanoworld? (17:00-23:00)

NaMLab opens its labs and explains to you in a vivid way which possibilities exists to investigate nanometer thin films electrically and physically. A general tour through the labs is not enough for you? Take part in the special tours and let us explain to you in detail how to operate an electrical prober or how to investigate a structure smaller than a human hair with an atomic force microscope. Guided tours: – 21:00 Special guided tour (English) – 22:00 Special guided tour (German) – General guided tours throughout the evening every 20 minutes (except at the times of the special guided tour)

Hot and delicious or ice cold! (17:00-23:00)

Fortify yourself with some delicious foods from the grill and some drinks. But if it is too warm for you or you just want something sweet, then try some ice cream from our molecular kitchen!

Categories
BioMCross News

Best Paper in Electronics-Award at MOCAST

Congratulations to our BioMCross-team for receiving the Best Paper in Electronics-Award at the MOCAST2022 conference for their publication: “SPICE Compact Model for an Analog Switching Niobium Oxide Memristor”.

Categories
Events

MemrisTec Summer School 2022 in Aachen/Jülich

More information: https://memristec.de/summerschool

Categories
News ROBCOMM

Leon Brackmann receives MemrisTec Young Researcher Award

The MemrisTec Board selected Leon Brackmann from RWTH Aachen for receiving the first MemrisTec Young Researcher Award for the best project presentation during the MemrisTec 2022 workshop.

„The winner exhibited excellent presentation skills. He was succint and was able to respond to the questions in a satisfying manner. His research is timesly and very useful for the broader community, and most importantly his results can be used as design guidlines for real-world-memristor-based applications.“

MemrisTec Board

Categories
Events

MemrisTec2022 in Dresden

Partners in the priority program meet from May 18th to May 19th in Dresden to report on progress in the nine projects. Extensive opportunities for discussion served to plan the next steps. The interdisciplinary composition of the partners led to interesting exchange which was well appreciated also during the supporting social side events.

Categories
News

Machine Learning Workshops in Schools

To encourage schoolgirls to STEAM and cliché-free career choices MemrisTec will start offering workshops, e.g. on machine learning, not only at Girls’Day but also in schools for more women in stem subjects.

Categories
Events

MemrisTec2022 Workshop May 18th/19th in Dresden

For the first time the MemrisTec partners will meet face-to-face in Dresden on 18th and 19th May 2022. The main purpose of the workshop is the synchronization of the progress of all nine projects.

Categories
Events

Girls’Day on 28.4.2022

MemrisTec offers a Girls’Day activity on the campus of TU Dresden. The event is titled: “Artificial Intelligence for your pocket – Object detection with a mini-computer”.

You may find further information here. (in German only as it is an event for high school students).

Categories
BioMCross

NaMLab researcher wins research grant from the European Research Council

Congratulations to Dr. Erika Covi for receiving the prestigious Starting Grant from the European Research Council (ERC) for her pioneering project: MEMRINESS Memristive Neurons and Synapses for Neuromorphic Edge Computing. Dr. Erika Covi is a staff member at NaMLab, an affiliated institute of TU Dresden, and active in the MemrisTec project BioMCross.

Dr. Erika Covi and her team will investigate physical properties of memristive devices. Particular focus will be on the ability of memristors to mimic the learning behaviour of neurons and synapses. This property of memristors enables the development of neuromorphic electronic systems for information processing. Such intelligent and highly efficient network components are better able to meet the challenges of the Internet of Things compared to conventional technologies.

ERC Starting Grants support excellent researchers at the career stage where they establish their own independent research team or programme. Dr. Covi will receive up to €1.5 million for her five-year research.

Categories
MemDPU

Dr. Nan Du heading Radiometry group at FSU Jena & Leibniz IPHT

Nan Du, principal investigator in the MemrisTec project MemDPU, changed the affiliation from TU Chemnitz to FSU Jena since 01.12.2021. She is heading the radiometry working group which is part of the Institute of Solid State Physics (IFK) at the Faculty of Physics and Astronomy of the Friedrich Schiller University (FSU) Jena and as well belongs to the Leibniz Institute of Photonic Technology (IPHT). In MemDPU her team develops novel general purpose Domino Processing Units (DPU) as unconventional in-memory-computing paradigm with high efficiency for data-intensive applications. Her group is responsible for the optimization and physical implementation of electroforming-free analog memristors as well as the design and realization of memristive systems.

Kategorien
Events

Beiträge zur Dresdner Langen Nacht der Wissenschaften am 8. Juli 2022

Die NaMLab gGmbH bietet mehrere Angebote an!

https://www.wissenschaftsnacht-dresden.de

Einblicke in den Reinraum (17-23 Uhr)

Schaut zusammen mit unseren Wissenschaftlern in den Reinraum und erfahrt dabei Interessantes über den Aufbau und das Arbeiten in dieser Umgebung. Dabei werden auch die Fragen geklärt, wie sauber eigentlich rein ist und wozu ein Reinraum benötigt wird. Anschließend werden an leicht verständlichen Modellen die Funktionsweise elektrischer Bauteile sowie die Herstellung dünner Schichten in der Halbleitertechnik erklärt.

Elektronik selbst gemacht (17-20 Uhr)

Neuartige Elektronik können nur die Großen? Beweis das Gegenteil und lötet hier eure eigene Schaltung! Unsere erfahrenen Wissenschaftler:innen stehen mit Rat und Tat zur Seite. Und wenn ihr Lust auf noch mehr Elektonikbasteln habt, dann schaut doch bei der Lötpunkt AG vorbei, immer Dienstags in den Technischen Sammlungen Dresden.

Wie forscht man in der Nanowelt (17-23 Uhr)

Das NaMLab öffnet seine Labortüren und erklärt Euch anschaulich, welche Möglichkeiten es gibt um Nanometer dünne Schichten elektrisch und physikalisch zu untersuchen. Eine allgemeine Führung durch die Labore ist euch dabei nicht genug? Dann nehmt an den Sonderführungen teil und lasst euch genauer erklären wie man einen elektrischen Prober bedient oder mit einem Rasterkraftmikroskop eine Struktur misst, die kleiner ist als ein menschliches Haar. Führungen: – 21:00 Sonderführung (Englisch) – 22:00 Sonderführung (Deutsch) – Allgemeine Führungen über den ganzen Abend verteilt im 20 Minutentakt (mit Ausnahme zu den Zeiten der Sonderführung)

Heiß und köstlich oder eiskalt? (17-23 Uhr)

Für das leibliche Wohl ist dank Grill und Getränkestand den ganzen Abend gesorgt. Wenn es euch aber doch zu warm ist oder Ihr einfach etwas Süßes wollt, dann probiert doch mal ein leckeres Eis aus unserer Molekularküche!

Kategorien
BioMCross News

Best Paper in Electronics-Award auf der MOCAST

Herzlichen Glückwunsch an unser BioMCross-Team für die Auszeichnung mit dem Best Paper in Electronics-Award auf der MOCAST2022-Konferenz für ihre Veröffentlichung: „SPICE Compact Model for an Analog Switching Niobium Oxide Memristor“.

Kategorien
Events

MemrisTec Summer School 2022 in Aachen/Jülich

Weitere Informationen: https://memristec.de/summerschool

Kategorien
News ROBCOMM

Leon Brackmann erhält den MemrisTec Young Researcher Award

Das MemrisTec-Board hat Leon Brackmann von der RWTH Aachen mit dem ersten MemrisTec Young Researcher Award für die beste Projektpräsentation während des MemrisTec 2022 Workshops ausgezeichnet.

„Der Gewinner zeigte hervorragende Präsentationsfähigkeiten. Er war prägnant und konnte zufriedenstellend auf die Fragen eingehen. Seine Forschung ist zeitgemäß und sehr nützlich für die breitere Gemeinschaft, und, was am wichtigsten ist, seine Ergebnisse können als Design-Richtlinien für reale Memristor-basierte Anwendungen verwendet werden.“

MemrisTec Board

Kategorien
Events

MemrisTec2022 in Dresden

Die Partner des Schwerpunktprogramms trafen sich vom 18. bis 19. Mai in Dresden, um über die Fortschritte der neun Projekte zu berichten. Ausgiebige Diskussionsmöglichkeiten dienten dazu, die nächsten Schritte zu planen. Die interdisziplinäre Zusammensetzung der Partner führte zu einem interessanten Austausch, der auch bei den begleitenden Rahmenveranstaltungen gut ankam.

Kategorien
News

Machine Learning-Workshops in Schulen

Zur Steigerung des Interesse an MINT-Fachgebieten und dem kritischen Umgang mit Technologien wird MemrisTec zukünftig auch Workshops in Schulen durchführen und nicht nur am Girls’Day anbieten. Mit diesem praktischen Beitrag sollen insb. mehr Frauen für die Wissenschaft begeistert werden.

Kategorien
Events

MemrisTec2022 Workshop 18./19. Mai in Dresden

Erstmals in Präsenz werden die MemrisTec-Partner am 18. und 19. Mai 2022 in Dresden zusammenkommen und sich über die Entwicklungen in den neun Projekten austauschen.

Kategorien
Events

Girls’Day am 28.4.2022

MemrisTec bietet ein Girls’Day-Angebot auf dem Campus der TU Dresden an. Der Veranstaltungstitel lautet „Künstliche Intelligenz für die Hosentasche – Objekterkennung mit einem Mini-Computer“.

Weitere Details und Links zur Anmeldung finden sie hier.

MemrisTec Girls'Day

Kategorien
BioMCross

NaMLab-Forscherin gewinnt Forschungsstipendium des Europäischen Forschungsrates

Herzlichen Glückwunsch an Dr. Erika Covi für den Erhalt des renommierten Starting Grants des European Research Council (ERC) für ihr zukunftsweisendes Projekt: MEMRINESS Memristive Neurons and Synapses for Neuromorphic Edge Computing. Dr. Erika Covi ist Mitarbeiterin am NaMLab, einem An-Institut der TU Dresden, und aktiv im MemrisTec-Project BioMCross.

Dr. Erika Covi und ihr Team werden physische Eigenschaften memristiver Bauelemente untersuchen. Besonderer Fokus wird auf der Fähigkeit der Memristoren, das Lernverhalten von Neuronen und Synapsen nachzuahmen, liegen. Diese Eigenschaft von Memristoren ermöglicht die Entwicklung von neuromorphen elektronischen Systemen zur Informationsverarbeitung. Solche intelligenten, hocheffizienten Netzwerkkomponenten sind im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen Technologien besser in der Lage, die Herausforderungen des Internets der Dinge zu meistern.

ERC Starting Grants unterstützen exzellente Forscher:innen auf der Karrierestufe, auf der sie ihr eigenes unabhängiges Forschungsteam oder Programm aufbauen. Dr. Covi wird die fünfjährige Förderung in Höhe von bis zu 1,5 Millionen Euro für ihre Forschungsarbeit erhalten.

Logo European Research Council

Kategorien
MemDPU

Dr. Nan Du leitet AG Radiometrie an FSU Jena & Leibniz IPHT

Nan Du, Wissenschaftlerin im MemrisTec-Projekt MemDPU, verlagert ihre institutionelle Zuordnung von der TU Chemnitz zur FSU Jena zum 01.12.2021. Sie leitet dort die Arbeitsgruppe Radiometrie, die Teil des Instituts für Festkörperphysik an der Fakultät für Physik und Astronomie der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität (FSU) Jena ist als auch des Leibniz-Instituts für Photonische Technologien (IPHT). Im Projekt MemDPU entwickelt ihr Team ein neuartiges Rechenwerk, die Domino Processing Unit (DPU), die auf Basis von memristiven Bauelementen eine In-Memory Rechnerarchitektur für das Prozessieren großer Datenmengen realisiert. Ihre Arbeitsgruppe ist verantwortlich für die Herstellung und Charakterisierung von memristiven Bauelementen als auch dem Design und des Aufbaus umfassender memristiver Systeme.